Thanks, Charlie. (Bonus: Summer Playlist, whaddup.)

When I am not sassing people around and complaining about not owning a cat, I make playlists. Like all day, and I never get tired of it. It all started when I had just finished watching The Perks of Being a Wallflower aka one of the best movies ever made. The idea for making playlists clearly came from Ponytail Derek. I thought it was pretty cool that he made a new mixtape for his girlfriend, Candace every week, and but also  thought it was really shitty that she never bothered to listen to them and gave them away to Charlie. But then Charlie went batshit crazy and kept making mixtapes like the little cutie that he was. So, I decided to make playlists, every single day. And I have made what has seemed to be the perfect summer playlist. Years from now, I will look back and say, “dayum those songs i jammed to lol dey were dope am i rite”.

1. “We Can’t Stop” – Miley Cyrus: We all thought we’d seen the last of Hannah Montana. Everyone absolutely loved the song, until the video for it released. She twerked her way up the charts with this song. Literally. 

2. “Sweater Weather” – The Neighborhood: One thing that I will never stop finding is new Indie bands. Funny how a song about sweaters has made into my summer music. Which brings us to the question as to, why has this song made the list? The reason being that I discovered this song during the beginning of summer, and I blasted it everyday and also because I just really like sweaters.

3. “First Time” – Jonas Brothers: I never in a million years thought the Homos Brothers would make my list. But well, they did.  This is actually a good song, and I’m psyched that they’ve changed their sound up a bit, and they literally sound like men here. Kudos, you suckas.

4. “Never Gonna Leave This Bed” – Maroon 5: Yes, this song came out in 2011. But it’s Maroon 5. One cannot simply stop jamming to Maroon effing 5. Heard this song back in early 2012, and now, I found it finally cleaning out my old hard drive. Oh c’mon, sing it with me, “Wake you up in the middle of the night to say, I will never walk away again, I’m never gonna leave this bed.” Don’t be shy, now.

5. “Safe and Sound” – Capital Cities: Yes, another indie band. Roll with it. I had no idea a band like this existed, until my friend sent me the link to this video of theirs. I’ll admit they’re pretty damn good, and their album is even better. This song made it’s way into my playlist real quick.

6. “Burn” – Ellie Goulding: If I had to describe my love for Ellie Goulding, you better get ready for a saga of some sort. She’s British, beautiful, and has the voice of an angel. Throw in some really cool beats in there and you’ve got yourself a hit. I don’t find a reason why this song isn’t more apt for this playlist.

7. “Fader” – The Temper Trap: Third indie band on this list. Don’t judge me. I first came across this band when I heard them on 500 Days of Summer’s soundtrack. I then proceeded with my research and found this beautiful piece of work. It’s absolutely fantastic and is the first song I listen to every morning.

8. “Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring Pharrell Williams and T.I: This song must’ve made it into everyone’s summer jam. Everything about this song is perfect. It’s got some great vocals from Robin who finally made his comeback after marrying that sexy ass, Paula Patton from MI4. It’s got this sort of groovy feel to it, that makes your toes fall off from all of the tapping. And any song with Pharrell is our jam, you feel me?

9. “Contact” – Daft Punk: I hope you weren’t looking to find “Get Lucky” in my list because you won’t. If I hear one more radio station play that song again, I will not hesitate to start a revolt. Instead of wasting my valuable and extremely precious time rewinding the exact same song over and over, I decided to check out their most critically acclaimed album yet. This very song is the last one on the album is absolutely perfect. It starts off slow and then proceeds to give you uncontrollable eargasms.

10. “Young Blood (Dekade Remix)” – The Naked and Famous: This list couldn’t have had a better ending track. I have no idea how I got hold of this song. But I found the remix in the soundtrack for the movie, 21 & Over. Sometimes when you hear just seconds of a song, you just know it’ll be something you’ll replay for quite a long time. This remix is literally flawless, and is the perfect ending to a fabulous summer break.

2 thoughts on “Thanks, Charlie. (Bonus: Summer Playlist, whaddup.)

Leave a Reply

